Sunday, April 25, 2010

Top Minnesota High School Students and Teachers Come to Saint John's for German Awards Banquet

On Saturday, April 25, thirty Minnesota high school German students received awards for their superb work in German language and culture studies in German.  Top Minnesota German teachers were also recognized at this event.  They represent the best of German teaching nationwide:  

Dear Teachers: We are deeply grateful for your daily energy and contributions to the success of German Studies in Minnesota! We cannot thank you enough.

  •    Kathy Bauman at Century High School in Rochester 
  •    Josh Grossman at John Marshall High School in Rochester
  •    Michael Thompson at Mayo High School in Rochester
  •    Emmy Sack from Saint John's Preparatory in Collegeville
  •    Jutta Crowder at St. Paul Academy
  •    Maureen Curran at Mounds View High School in Arden Hills
  •    Barbara Melbye Janssen at Wayzata High School in Plymouth
  •    Miriam O'Brien at Marshall School in Duluth
  •    Judy Zewers at Coon Rapids High School in Coon Rapids
  •    Laura Welch at Irondale High School in New Brighton
  •    Deborah Winkelman at Northfield High School in Northfield
  •    Rosemarie Hogan at Apple Valley High School in Apple Valley
  •    Gretchen Ortenzio at Minnetonka High School in Minnetonka
  •    Cheryl Wason at Farmington High School in Farmington.

Pictured here are colleagues Isolde Mueller and Shawn Jarvis from SCSU who organized the administration of the oral and written national exams, and Lisa Ohm, German Professor and Chair of MCL for Saint Ben's and Saint John's who helped host the event.  Thank you all for a most wonderful event!